Why are times different in other countries? - FamousWhy
FamousWhy
USA
Famous People Famous Regions Famous Articles Famous Software FamousWhy Web Services Famous Forum Submit Content
|


Statistics:
Visits: 13
Votes: 0
Fame Riser
          
Fame Rank
N/A
Fame Riser
create pool

 

Articles


Ask a Question about Why are times different in other countries?

Famous Tags


education   children   school   inclusive   history   learn   life   parents   society   students   family   novel   people   teachers   about   england   teacher   nature   britain   english   personality   important   mistakes   good   what   language   language teaching   romania   attitude   problems   communication   experience   process   study   middle ages   integration  

All Tags

Free facebook fans, followers, likes - SocialBirth.com

 

Why are times different in other countries?

 Q:   Ask a Question about Why are times different in other countries?       
Why are times different in other countries? Clocks in other countries need to be adjusted so that it gets light and dark at approximately the same time everywhere. Without this adjustment, people might find that dawn was at 10 o'clock in the evening, for example.

In 1884 time zones were set up around the world, measured from Greenwich in London, England. Every time zone east or west of Greenwich has noon at a different time.

Each zone is either one hour ahead or behind of its neighboring zone - it is one hour earlier to the west of each zone, and one hour later to the east.

The chart above shows the difference in times around the world. These are all measured against 12:00 noon, Greenwich MeanTime (the time in Britain):

Amsterdam. The Netherlands -13:00
Athens, Greece - 14:00
Auckland, New Zealand -24:00
Bangkok. Thailand - 19:00
Cairo, Egypt - 14:00
Delhi, India - 17:30
Hong Kong, China - 20:00
Jamaica, West Indies - 07:00
Los Angeles, USA - 04:00
Moscow, Russia - 15:00
New York, USA - 07:00
Paris, France - 13:00
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil - 09:00
Sydney. Australia - 22:00
Tokyo, Japan - 21:00
Toronto, Canada - 07:00
Washington D.C., USA - 07:00


Tags: time, clock, world



Category: Education  - ( Education Archive)

Date Added: 09 December '11


Add a link to this page on any related website, blog or forum using this code :